TM

HOME

Our Resources

Texas Abuse Hotline: https://www.txabusehotline.org

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services: (800) 252-5400 or

Childhelp: (800) 422-4453

 

What exactly do we mean when we talk about abuse? Read this article to find out what constitutes abuse.

 

TEXAS CHILD ABUSE LAWS

 

Code section: Family 261.001 et seq.

 

What Constitutes Abuse

 

Failing to reasonably prevent others from CONSTANTLY inflicting mental or emotional injury impairing a child’s growth, development, or psychological functions; physical injury resulting insubstantial harm, or which is at variance with explanation given; sexual abuse, exploitation, use of controlled substance resulting in mental or physical harm to a child.

 

Reporting Child Abuse

 

Mandatory Reporting Required by: “Professionals” including teachers, nurses, doctors, day care employees, employees of state-licensed or certified organization with direct contact with children, clergy, mental health professional, attorney, reproductive health clinic worker, and person.

 

What Exactly is “Proper Authority”?

 

  •     Any local or state law enforcement agency.
  •     The Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services (TDPRS), if the suspected abuse involves a person responsible for the care, custody or welfare of the child (such as child’s parent or guardian, personnel at a residential facility or school personnel. You can make a report to the TDPRS by calling the Child Abuse Hotline at (800) 252-5400, a service of the TDPRS
  •     The state agency that operates, licenses, certifies or registers the facility in which the alleged abuse or neglect occurred.

 

Basis of Report of Abuse/neglect:

 

Having cause to believe that a child’s physical or mental health or welfare has been or may be adversely affected by abuse or neglect.

 

Whom Reported:

 

Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services.

 

Penalty for Failure to Report or False Reporting

 

Class B Misdemeanor: Physical injury resulting in substantial harm; mental or emotional injury; failure to prevent injury can be fined up to $2,000.00 and/or imprisonment up to 180 days.

Class A Misdemeanor: By child false report , which is fine up to $4,000 and/or imprisonment for up to one year.

 

How to Report Child Abuse in Texas – Hotline Numbers for Reporting Child Abuse or Neglect

 

If you suspect that a child is being abused, abandoned or neglected, contact the agency listed below, call your local child protective services agency, or call 9-1-1. Here is a link to the Texas state agency for children services and the telephone number to report child abuse and neglect in Texas:

 

Texas Department of Family and Protective Services

Toll-Free: (800) 252-5400

 

If you do not get an answer at the above number call Childhelp (800-422-4453) for assistance. Childhelp® USA is a non-profit agency which can provide reporting numbers, and has Hotline counselors who can provide referrals.

 

 

He gives power to those who are tired and worn out; he offers strength to the weak. Even the youths will become exhausted and young men will give up. But those who wait on the Lord will find new strength. They will fly high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint. Isaiah 40: 29-31

CONTACT US

L.E.A.P. LOGIN

JOT LOGIN